Public Notices|

Armstrong Spallumcheen Fire Truck en route to Guatemala

The Armstrong Spallumcheen Fire Services Commission (ASFSC) approved the donation of a fire truck to be delivered to AMEDICAusa Inc. for use in the Republic of Guatemala. 

“This donation will help provide greater fire protection to a developing country, potentially saving both lives and property,” explained Armstrong Spallumcheen Fire Chief Ian Cummings.

The 1990 Pierce Tele-Squirt Aerial fire apparatus was replaced in 2019 due to the Fire Underwriter age restrictions. As a result, the fire apparatus had minimal value in North America.

“The Pierce Tele-Squirt Aerial fire truck has served both of our communities well for many years. We are glad to see a country, such as Guatemala, greatly benefit from this donation,” says Armstrong Mayor Joe Cramer.

“The Township Council have been super excited to be involved with the ASFSC, Armstrong staff and Council in ensuring this donation was a success.  To know that we can provide support to another community and region in another area of the world gives us great pride.  It’s a big job to be elected officials in two communities who are voted in to represent our residents and to know that this decision reflects how fortunate we are to live in an area of the world that we can be in a position to donate such integral infrastructure in another country is fantastic, ” added Christine Fraser, Mayor of Spallumcheen. 

The ASFSC members, and Armstrong and Spallumcheen Councils would like to recognize ASFSC member and Spallumcheen Councillor Joe Van Tienhoven for his hard work and leadership throughout this process. “Councillor Van Tienhoven was instrumental in making this donation possible,” explained Fraser.

The ASFSC is comprised of two Council members each from the City of Armstrong and the Township of Spallumcheen, as well as the Chief Administrative Officers, Fire Chief and staff. Fire Services Commission meetings are open to the public and attendance is encouraged. For more information, please go to our municipal websites: City of Armstrong: or Township of Spallumcheen: 

For more information please contact: 

Joe Cramer
Mayor – City of Armstrong 
Christine Fraser
Mayor – Township of Spallumcheen 
Close Search Window